Home > Community > Training

Business and Industry Training

SUNY Canton provides training and workshops to business, industry, and the community. We work with local residents and employers to provide the skills improvement needed for certification, promotion, and technical currency.

Some of the offices which provide training and continuing education services are listed below:


SUNY Canton cultivates the minds of tomorrow as Northern New York's four and two-year college for technology, health, management and public service. SUNY Canton offers 16 majors leading to bachelor degrees, 19 programs leading to associate degrees, and 8 programs leading to one-year certificates. Numerous articulation agreements with other institutions provide for other opportunities in fields such as business administration, forestry and medicine. Graduates of two-year programs may either stay and continue on in one of the bachelor degree programs, transfer to another institution, or begin their career immediately.

Students number approximately 3800 and are taught by faculty who have both outstanding academic credentials and sound technical experience. Most have on-the-job professional experience, are licensed in their fields, and are current practitioners in their professions.

Campus History

Originally founded in 1906 as the School of Agriculture (SOA) at St. Lawrence University, SUNY Canton was the first postsecondary, two-year college in New York authorized by the Legislature. In 1941, SOA was renamed the New York State Agricultural and Technical Institute (ATI). ATI became a member college of the State University of New York in 1948. To recognize advanced technology programs added in the 1950's and '60's, the college underwent another name change in 1965, this time becoming the State University of New York Agricultural and Technical College at Canton, or ATC. In 1987, the University's Board of Trustees authorized yet another name change -- to the college's present designation as State University of New York College of Technology at Canton.

Beginning a new era for the college, in 1997 SUNY Canton received baccalaureate degree granting approval from the SUNY Trustees and the Governor of New York State. Since 1997, seven bachelor degrees have been approved, and several others are in development.

Associated Colleges

SUNY Canton is a member of the Associated Colleges of the St. Lawrence Valley, a four-college consortium that also includes Clarkson University, the SUNY Potsdam and St. Lawrence University. The Associated Colleges, with nearly 12,500 students in two villages 11 miles apart, expands opportunities through such activities as cross-registration for courses at the other three campuses, coordination of social events, and library privileges at all four college libraries.