Safety Committee

The SUNY Canton Safety Committee was established to address a wide range of campus concerns which contribute to maintaining an overall safe environment conducive to living and working together. The committee's charge includes:

  • Addressing a wide range of campus safety concerns including responding to inquiries from concerned persons and referring complaints to the appropriate authorities
  • Recognizing, evaluating and recommending a course of action to solve or control safety/health problems
  • Ensuring that education is provided to the campus community about personal safety and crime prevention
  • Identifying and recommending strategies to the campus for the prevention of sexual harassment and sexual assault
  • Making recommendations for campus implementation by sharing them with the Title IX coordinator or designee

Mission Statement

The SUNY Canton Safety Committee is dedicated to help create and promote a safe campus community for a diverse population. The Safety Committee will support and facilitate educational opportunities, training, personal safety awareness, health initiatives, environmental repairs and design means to enhance safety. The committee will act as an advisory group on campus security and oversee aspects of campus safety programs.

The Committee

The Safety Committee is comprised of Presidential appointed representatives from campus departments. Student representatives are selected by the Student Government Association. Each representative is tasked with:

  • Providing input to resolve campus safety issues
  • Bringing safety issues to the safety committee for resolution
  • Contributing to help meet the annual goals set by the safety committee

» Safety Committee Members


Meetings are held monthly during the academic year. Special meetings are called whenever necessary.

Meeting Minutes

If you wish to report a safety or health concern you can complete a Safety and Health Inquiry Report which is available from University Police and Human Resources.

For more specific information regarding the Campus Safety Committee, please contact Derek Converse, Campus Safety Committee Chair, at: